Top Ad unit 728 × 90


What time is the Ballon d'Or? All you need to know ahead of tonight's gala ceremony

Cristiano Ronaldo, Manuel Neuer and Lionel Messi are up for the most prestigious individual award in world football
The great, good and not-so-good of world football will gather in Switzerland today to see the world's best player of 2014 crowned.
Although the ceremony is taking place in January it will honour those who had success in 2014.
Cristiano Ronaldo is favourite to retain the award he won last year after helping Real Madrid to a tenth European crown, but he faces competition from World Cup winner Manuel Neuer and the tournament's best player Lionel Messi.
There will also be a host of other awards handed out tonight.
Here is everything you need to know ahead of the ceremony.
What time does the Ballon d'Or take place?
The FIFA Ballon d'Or gala takes place in Kongresshaus, Zurich, from 6.30pm today.
The award nominees will be holding pre-ceremony press conferences from 13.30pm to 4pm, while the stars will start arriving on the red carpet from 5pm.

Can I watch it on TV?
British Eurosport will be showing the ceremony live from 6.15pm, while will be streaming the pre-ceremony press conferences, red carpet arrivals and the ceremony.

The crowning of this year's Ballon d'Or is scheduled for 6.52pm.

Who is up for the award?
AFPChampion: Cristiano Ronaldo is favourite to win the Ballon d'Or
Cristiano Ronaldo is the favourite for the award after a stellar 2014.
He scored 31 La Liga goals in 30 games last season, and he has managed to go to another level still this campaign, scoring a barely believable 26 goals in just 16 league games.

The 29-year-old also scored on the biggest club occasion of them all as he helped Los Blancos to a tenth European Cup with a 4-1 win in Lisbon over city rivals Atletico, and he finished the 2013/14 Champions League season with 17 goals in 11 games.

The only disappointment in 2014 was a poor World Cup when he failed to inspire Portugal, who were dumped out in the group stages.

FIFAKeeper: Manuel Neuer could become the first goalkeeper to win the award
Manuel Neuer has been backed into a strong second favourite in the past week and there is a growing suspicion he could become the first goalkeeper to win the prestigious award.
Neuer has re-defined his position this season with some eye-catching goalkeeping. He isn't afraid to move into defence and become an extra passing option for his team, while he has regularly charged out of his area to tackle attackers anywhere inside his own half.

The 28-year-old was also a key member of the Germany side which won the World Cup in Brazil, although he was lucky to escape punishment for a rash charge into Gonzalo Higuain in the final.

Neuer has already become the first goalkeeper in eight years to make the shortlist, could he know become the first winner?

Lionel Messi was voted as the best player at the World Cup in Brazil
Lionel Messi won this award for four years in a row between 2009 and 2012, but he lost his title to Ronaldo last year and he is the outsider of the three to regain it in Zurich tonight.
After scoring 46 goals in 32 games two seasons ago it was always going to be difficult for the 27-year-old to follow that up last term, and although 28 goals in 31 league games is not exactly a shabby return, it is unlikely to be enough to win the Ballon d'Or for a fifth time.

Messi did manage four goals in Brazil and was named the World Cup's best player, but his tournament ended in disappointment as Argentina were beaten by Germany in the final.

So far this season Messi has scored 24 goals in 24 games, although there are reports he isn't happy with life under new Barca coach Luis Enrique.

What other awards are up for grabs?
Six other individual awards will be handed out tonight, while the FIFA/FIFPro World XI will also be announced.

The women's player of the year is a battle between Germany's Nadine Kessler, Brazil's Marta and Abby Wambach of the USA.

There is an award for men's and women's coach of the year. For the men Carlo Ancelotti faces competition from Joachim Low and Diego Simeone, and the women's award will go to one of Ralf Kellermann, Maren Meinert and Norio Sasaki.

Stephanie Roche will be hoping to land the Puskas award after her stunning strike in Ireland, but she is up against James Rodriguez and Robin van Persie for their goals in the World Cup.

The Fair Play award is self explanatory, while the Presidential award will be handed out by Sepp Blatter to someone who has made a 'superlative contribution to football without seeking to monopolise the limelight'. Ironic, eh?

Who will win the 2014 FIFA Ballon D'Or?

Cristiano Ronaldo
Lionel Messi
Manuel Neuer

Have your say!
What time is the Ballon d'Or? All you need to know ahead of tonight's gala ceremony Reviewed by Jisieike Samuel on January 12, 2015 Rating: 5

No comments:

All Rights Reserved by Nigeria's #1 Gist Hub © 2013 - 2018
Powered by BillionBill, Designed by BillionBill

Contact Form


Email *

Message *

Powered by Blogger.